Mohammedan Sporting Club grabbed hattrick titles

Mohammedan Sporting Club have completed a hattrick of Women’s Club Cricket Tournament titles after they defeated Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by seven wickets  in the final of the 5th edition of the tournament at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium today on Wednesday.  Mohammedan had previously won the Women’s Club Cup in 2012, 2011 and 2009.  The Bangladesh Cricket Board President Nazmul Hassan Papon was the Chief Guest at the final.

Mohammedan players also dominated the individual performance list. Captain Salma Khatun was the tournamets’ highest run scorer with 214 from five matches (avg 42.8). Her teammate Sathira Jakir was adjudged the player of the tournament for an impressive all-round show. She made 194 runs at 48.5 in five games and led the wicket tally with 13 scalps. The 107 off 89 balls scored by Mohammedan opener Suktara Rahman in the semifinal against Dipali Jubo Shongho was the only hundred of the competition.

Brief Scores:

Also Read - Shakib Al Hasan grabs a point for Leicestershire

Toss: Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club won the toss and elected to bat first

1st Innings: Sheikh Jamal 129/8 after 40 overs: Reshma Akter 24, Suborna Islam 22, Panna Ghosh 19

2nd Innings: Mohammedan 131/3 after 32.3 overs: Salma Khatun 46*, Sarmin Sultana 23, Rumana Ahmed 21*, Suktara Rahman 21

Result: Mhammedan won by 7 wickets with 7.3 overs in hand

 Women’s Club Cricket Tournament Roll Of Honour

Year Champions Runners up
2013 Mohammedan Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club
2012 Mohammedan Gulshan Youth Club
2011 Mohammedan Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club
2010 Ansar & VDP Mohammedan
2009 Mohammedan Ansar & VDP