Bangladesh facing New Zealand XI at Whangarei

Tigers are all set to start their New Zealand mission as they take on New Zealand XI in the only warm up match. Before starting the series against Blackcaps, Tigers are looking forward to prepare themselves hundred percent so they are going to play this warm match aiming to get ideas about the condition as well.

Bangladesh have won the toss and decided to bat first against New Zealand XI at Cobham Oval in Whangarei.

After recovering from shoulder injury Mustafizur Rahman, the young pace sensation of Bangladesh cricket team have made comeback in the national side finally after a long break of seven months. This prodigy pacer of Bangladesh has to prove himself that he is enough fit to play the upcoming series, it has learnt that selectors will edgy eyes upon him during the game. From the point of this match, they will decide whether he will play in the first ODI against New Zealand or not.

Also Read - Bangladesh U-19 lose in D/L calculations

Mashrafe Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal all four stars who were rested and left out from the Tigers last warm match against Sydney Thunder in Australia have been back and included in the squad of this match against New Zealand XI.

Canterbury batsman Cole McConchie is appointed to lead New Zealand XI against Bangladesh cricket team. Northern Districts’ Bharat Popli, who was the top domestic batsman last summer, Central Districts spinner Ajaz Patel and young Auckland batsman Ben Horne, Phil Horne are also getting chance to take part in this match against the Tigers

Let’s have a look at the squad of two teams for this warm up match-

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Tanveer Haider Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy.

New Zealand XI: Ryan Duffy (Otago), Ben Smith (Central Districts), Bharat Popli (Northern Districts), Ken McClure (Canterbury), Cole McConchie (Canterbury) captain, Ben Horne (Auckland), Shawn Hicks (Auckland), Henry Shipley (Canterbury), Matt McEwan (Wellington), Brett Hampton (ND), Ajaz Patel (CD), Iain McPeake (Wellington).