Three new faces in Bangladesh squad for 1st ODI, Fizz comes back

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced Bangladesh’s 15-man squad for the only warm-up match against New Zealand XI and the first ODI match against New Zealand. Cutter master Mustafizur Rahman has comeback into the side. [Read in Bangla: প্রথম ওয়ানডে ও প্রস্তুতি ম্যাচের বাংলাদেশ দল ঘোষণা]

Bangladesh team celebrates after soumya sarkar awesome catch

Mustafizur’s last ODI match for Bangladesh was against Zimbabwe in late 2015, where he took a fifer. He played in ICC World T20 in India and then played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in Indian Premier League (IPL). His last outing was in NatWest T20 Blast for Sussex Sharks. He recovered from shoulder surgery and joined Bangladesh team in the tour.

Also Read - Flying Fizz in the sky of Ruakaka

Leg-spinner Tanveer Haider, pacer Subashis Roy and the hero of England Test series, Mehedi Hasan Miraz are the new faces in one-day squad.

Rubel Hossain, who got called after Mohammad Shahid’s injury, is named in the squad. He was in the spotlight in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) for Rangpur Riders. He took part in Tigers’ practice game against Sydney Thunder at Spotless Stadium.

Bangladesh will play their only tour game against New Zealand XI at Cobham Oval, Whangarei on 22nd December. The first ODI between them and New Zealand will be on Boxing Day at Hagley Oval, Christchurch. Blackaps also announced their 13-man squad leading by Kane Williamson.

15-member Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Tanveer Haider Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy.

-Ruffin, Correspondent,