AB, Amla among local marquee players for CSA T20

AB, Amla among local marquee players for CSA T20

The South African duo of stars, AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla have signed up for the Cricket South Africa T20 league as local marquee players. The league will kick off in November this year.

After the names of eight foreign marquee players been announced for the South African T20 league, CSA has announced the names of marquee local signings. Test and T20I captain Faf du Plessis, new pace bowling sensation Kagiso Rabada are among them.

Also Read - BCB announces new pay - scale

Each marquee South Africa player will represent a new franchise based in the city he’s been associated with or “a city which he can build a strong association.”

Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Lasith Malinga, Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard and Jason Roy are the foreign marquee players. AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir are the local boys.

CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said, “The selection of our own South African marquee players has been very exciting. It will be even more exciting when we engage fans to help us to allocate the hometown hero to each franchise team. This announcement is another major step towards establishing our new T20 League.

“We must not understate the world-class quality of our own players. They are household names across the world, and our fans in South Africa will finally get the chance to see them compete against one another at home. Together with the international marquee players announced last week, the Protea stars will add great value to the new franchise teams they will represent.”

There will be eight franchises participating in the league. Each team will have one local marquee player and a foreign marquee player ahead of the players draft.

-Ruffin, Correspondent, bdcrictime.com