Australia series schedule all but decided

Australia series schedule all but decided


Australia cricket team was supposed to visit Bangladesh for a two-match Test series in September, 2015. But the series was called of at the last moment on security grounds. Since then, there have been much drama from Cricket Australia’s part to continue the series as per FTP. Even they also withdrew their age-level team from the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup hosted by Bangladesh last year.[বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ অস্ট্রেলিয়ার বাংলাদেশ সফরের খসড়াসূচি]

Also Read - Pakistan series to be arranged in Sylhet and Fatullah

However, finally after leaving everything behind, Australia have nodded positively to make the Bangladesh tour. Still there remained confusion as to when the series would take place. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) was also finding it difficult to create a satisfactory itinery in midst of a jampacked international schedule throughout the year.

But that problem has also been solved now.

According to sources inside BCB, it has been learnt that Australia are likely to arrive in Bangladesh on August 18. Before the commencement of the series, they will play a three-day warm-up match at the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong. The series proper will kickstart on July 27 with the first Test at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium of the port city.

Read Also: Pakistan series to be arranged in Sylhet and Fatullah

The second Test will be held between September 4 and 8, but the venue for this match has yet not been decided. But rumors are rife that with the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur going through renovation process, this match will take place most probably at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,



Related Articles

Aussie fan’s weird witnessing of games

Australia spurn Ireland Test possibility

Spot-fixing allegations made against England, Australia

CA offers BCB T20I tri-series

Australia decline to host Bangladesh