Breaking News

Deadline crosses out but BCCI yet to promulgate; Up to date roster of Champions Trophy

In a bid to keep pressure on the ICC (International Cricket Council) ahead of the world cricket body’s board meeting, the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) is set to delay naming its team for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which begins on 1st June in England.

The deadline for naming the teams was on Tuesday, with India, Pakistan and England the only teams left to name their squads, for the eight-team tournament.

Also Read - Kohli drinks water costing 700 BDT per bottle!

As of by the Tuesday evening, host nation England have done their squad proclamation. According to a report by a Kolkata-daily, the board plans to announce the squad only after the ICC Board Meeting ends on 27 April, where the revenue and governance reforms will be voted upon.

BCCI’s move to delay naming the squad is backed by the Members Participation Agreement (MPA) that gives any cricket board the right to pull out of the tournament in case of a disagreement.

PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board) has been one of the staunchest opponents of the ICC structure, which guarantees BCCI a major share, after the Indian board failed to honor bilateral commitments.

However, dark clouds still overshadowing India’s chances of participation in the upcoming tournament after the BCCI rejected International Cricket Council’s (ICC) additional ‘USD 100 million’ offer in the ongoing tussle between the two bodies regarding the new revenue model. Other teams’ promulgation consist of several call-backs.

Selectors have kept their faith on & provided a positive nod to Bangladesh pacer Shafiul Islam. Lasith Malinga & Angelo Mathews have come back from injuries and are ready to represent Sri Lanka.

The injury prone trio of New-Zealand– Anderson, Milne & McClenaghan have returned. England have Wood recalled. Keshav Maharaj has earned himself a call-up to the South African national side after his bright performances in the domestic level.

Morne Morkel has been called back as well. Let’s have all eyes on the complete roster that is making each & every participating teams seem as the title contender

BANGLADESH Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Sanjamul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Shafiul Islam.

ENGLAND: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

SOUTH AFRICA: AB de Villiers (Captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel.

AUSTRALIA: Steven Smith (Captain), David Warner, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (Captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Jeetan Patel, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

India and Pakistan are yet to confirm their participation & announce their squads respectively.

Rohit Reshammiya Hashmi

Related Articles

Duckworth and Lewis believes Australia’s exit from Champions Trophy wasn’t fair

Arthur hopes for a ‘breakout’ in Pakistan cricket after winning CT 2017

Virat and Bumrah sledged Fakhar Zaman in the CT17 Final

‘No one need to tell Dhoni how to bat under pressure’ says Kohli

Younis Khan donates PM prize money to charity