Breaking News

Morne Morkel returns to SA squad for CT 2017, Steyn misses out

Morne Morkel returns to SA squad for CT 2017, Steyn misses outCricket South Africa has announced 15-man Proteas squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which takes place in England and Wales in June. Morne Morkel has made return to their ODI squad. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ চ্যাম্পিয়ন্স ট্রফির জন্য দক্ষিণ আফ্রিকা দল ঘোষণা]


The tall right-arm pace bowler Morkel has made return to the South African ODI squad after more than a year. He has been playing Tests for South Africa in recent times. The selectors have made a way for him to get back to the white-ball 50-over cricket.

Also Read - BCCI wants 'Big Three' model working till June

Uncapped off-spinner Keshav Maharaj is picked. He had been impressive in Test cricket for South Africa.

Steyn has been left out due to injury. Tabraiz Shamsi and Dane Peterson misses out too.

The South African squad led by AB de Villiers, has a bunch of allrounders with Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius.

South Africa squad: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel.

The ICC Champions Trophy will begin on 1st June. South Africa’s tournament will start on June 3 against Sri Lanka at The Oval. In Group B, they will also face Asian sides India (current CT champions) and Pakistan.

South Africa are currently ranked number one in ICC ODI rankings. They had a winning streak of 12 ODIs this season before it ended in New Zealand.

-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Dale Steyn aims ‘century’

‘Are Aussies cheap?’ former greats sigh

Steyn still not fit, unlikely to feature in squad

Steyn can’t bowl further; could miss series

Steyn taken to hospital for bruised left heel