Breaking News

SL pick Malinga for Champions Trophy


SL pick Malinga for Champions Trophy

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the 15-member Sri Lanka squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in England and Wales which starts in June, just a month and few days to go. Fast bowler Lasith Malinga returns in the squad. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ চ্যাম্পিয়ন্স ট্রফির শ্রীলঙ্কা দলে ফিরলেন ম্যাথিউস, মালিঙ্গা]

Also Read - Tamim and co. may leave for England after DPL's 4th round

Malinga, 33, hasn’t played any ODI match since November 2015. He has been out of the Sri Lankan side for a long period of time due to injury. Yet the Sri Lankan selectors have picked him for the Champions Trophy.

“Malinga has got his medical clearance to bowl 10 overs, since about two weeks ago,” SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala said. “We need to build him up to bowl 10 overs now. He’s playing in the IPL, which is to our advantage, because he’s in a top-class cricketing environment and he’s practising. Right now we are getting reports that he’s going into eight overs in a spell. We have to make sure he’s fit to bowl 10 by about the 10th of May.”

“Match fitness is what he’s lacking now – his physical fitness is superb. We are looking for Malinga to be fit to play the practice games before the tournament – it’s very important for him to play those games.”

Malinga took a hat-trick in the second T20I against Bangladesh this month. Currently, he is playing for Mumbai Indians in IPL.

Read Also: NZ recall McClenaghan, Anderson for Champions Trophy

SLC have picked wrist-spinners Lakshan Sandakan and Seekkuge Prasanna ahead of any off-break bowler. Angelo Mathews has been named captain despite missing South Africa and Bangladesh series.

Sri Lanka will face India, Pakistan and South Africa in Group B.

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Upul Tharanga (vc), Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna.

Standbys: Dilruwan Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka

-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Duckworth and Lewis believes Australia’s exit from Champions Trophy wasn’t fair

Arthur hopes for a ‘breakout’ in Pakistan cricket after winning CT 2017

Virat and Bumrah sledged Fakhar Zaman in the CT17 Final

‘No one need to tell Dhoni how to bat under pressure’ says Kohli

Younis Khan donates PM prize money to charity