Breaking News

Sunrisers Hyderabad reach second position with fourth win

Sunrisers Hyderabad reached second position with fourth win

Defending champion Sunrisers Hyderabad claimed their fourth win of the season defeating Delhi Daredevils by 15 runs in their home ground.

In the 21st match of the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, Sunrisers’ bowlers restricted Delhi Daredevils batting line up at 176 taking the win of 15 runs.

Also Read - Bangladesh squad to be announced today, Nasir to be back!

Delhi Daredevils lost only 5 wickets but could not reach near to the total done by the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Like all the previous matches, Sanju Samson produced a breathtaking innings of 42 runs as an opener.

After Billings lost his wicket in the second over, Samson partnered with Nair for 71 runs helping the Daredevils’ chase a bit easier although the rest of the batsmen failed to make any impact.

S Iyer scored highest with his unbeaten 50 runs; he played 31 runs with 4 fours and 2 sixes.

A Mathews also constructed a 23 ball 31 at the end but all that was not enough to grab the win for the visiting team.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s decision to bat first after winning the toss was capitalized by Shikhar Dhawan and Ken Williamson, both reached in their respective half centuries.

After the previous match’s lethal batting, skipper David Warner failed today, departed in the second over of the match, caught by Mishra and bowled by Chris Morris scoring 4 runs in 7 balls.

Afterwards it was all Dhawan – Williamson show against Delhi Daredevils. 136 runs were shared between them. Facing 50 and 51 deliveries respectively, Shikhar Dhawan and Ken Williamson scored 70 and 89 runs.

Williamson was more destructive of the two squaring fours and sixes all around the ground. Smacked 6 fours and 5 sixes, the Kiwi solid hitter scored 89 off 51 balls.

On the other side of the crease, Dhawan knocked 7 fours and a single six to score 70 runs. By the time both of them departed in the nineteenth over, there was little more left to do for other batsmen in the lineup.

Moises Henriques 12 runs off 6 and Deepak Hooda made 9 in 4 deliveries with one shot of four.

Chris Morris was the sole successful bowler for Delhi Daredevils taking all 4 wickets Sunrisers Hyderabad lost on the way to score 191.

Brief Score:
Sunrisers Hyderabad 191/4
K Williamson 89, S Dhawan 70, M Henriques 12
Chris Morris 4/26

Delhi Daredevils 176/5 (20 overs)
S Iyar 50*, Sanju Samson 42, K Nair 33
Mohammad Siraj 2/39, Yuvuraj Singh 1/6, S Kaul 1/32

Result: Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 15 runs.
Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Related Articles

Morris recalled for first Test; Faf, Steyn fit

Chris Morris ruled out from the Test series

‘Tintin’ – Chris Morris!

Perera, Badree sign for Rangpur Riders

AB de Villiers and his men fined for slow over rate