Uthappa, Gambhir pilot KKR to easy win

Kolkata Knight Riders has journeyed one step forward towards the play – offs registering a comfortable win against Rising Pune Supergiants chasing a rather competitive total of 182 runs.

In the 30th match of the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, top favorite Kolkata Knight Riders thrashed Rising Pune Supergiants by a 7 wickets victory.

Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa made the relatively tough task of chasing 182 runs easy with brilliant batting.

Also Read - SRK wishes to buy Dhoni for everything, even selling pyjamas

Rising Pune Supergiants bowling line up could do a little to defend the competitive total, only managed to grab 3 wickets in the process, one of these was down by a run – out.

Opener Sunil Narine scored 16 off 11 before fall short of the crease by direct throw from Thakur to wicket keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni who dislodged the bell.

Afterwards it was all a Gambhir – Uthappa show. The second wicket partnership between these two stranded all Kolkata Knight Riders needed to win the match. Together they scored 178 runs.

Robin Uthappa scored highest. The 87 run innings of the one down batsman garnished with 7 shots of fours including 6 shots for sixes. With a strike rate of 185.10, Uthappa played 47 balls. Unadkat managed to dislodge Uthappa in the seventeenth over while Gautam Gambhir was still there.

Gambhir departed a single run added in the team total, off the bowling of Christian scoring 62 off 46 deliveries. Gambhir hit 6 fours and a single six.

Earlier in the afternoon, Rising Pune Supergiants batted their 20 overs to score 182 runs for the loss of 5 wickets after Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and sent the opponent to bat first.

Ajinkya Rahane and R Tripathi stored 65 runs in the opening for RPS. Captain Steven Smith batted in one down was the highest scorer for his team.

Smith scored an unbeaten 51 runs encountering 37 deliveries with 4 fours and 1 six.

Brief Score:
Rising Pune Supergiants 182/5
S Smith 51*, A Rahane 46, R Tripathi 38
K Yadav 2/31, U Yadav 1/28, S Narine 1/34
Kolkata Knight Riders 184/3
R Uthappa 87, G Gambhir 62, S Narine 16
J Unadkat 1/26, D Christian 1/31
Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 7 wickets.
Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders.

Watch the video here-

Related Articles

‘Aussie cricketers’ relationship with CA is burnt’-Mitchell Johnson

Series of anonymous tweets raises question marks upon IPL-10 final

Gayle, Dhoni, Kohli exterminated from best IPL-XI

RPS’ coach Fleming wails for Ben Stokes after single run defeat

RPS captain Steve Smith bids emotional farewell to India