Women’s NCL to start on May 16

WNCL to start on May 16


The 8th Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) is due to start on May 16 with the participation of the eight divisional teams including newly-declared Mymensingh, revealed Bnagladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s Women’s Wing Chairman MA Awal Bhulu on Saturday (April 29).

Also Read - Ben Stokes might miss Champions Trophy due to injury

Unlike the men’s NCL, the WNCL will be a 50-over affair, though it will be
played with red ball at two different grounds in Cox’s Bazar.

“Today we got together with divisional secretaries and held a meeting where we discussed about venue, format and dates for the League. In discussion, they raised the objections not to play in the holy Ramadan,” Bhulu  said of meeting. [Read also: Women cricketers to get BDT 600 per match]

“But we assumed that we will prepare the fixture of the games in such way so that the bulk of the matches could be held before the outset of the Ramadan. Two venues in Cox’s Bazar will host all the matches.

“We have World Cup Qualifying ahead. Actually we are holding the championship keeping that in mind,” he added.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Joining Bangladesh was a fast-tracked move: Anju Jain

ICC announces venues for first-ever stand alone Women’s T20 World Cup

Khulna become champions in Women’s NCL

Female cricketers to get BDT 600 per match

Tigresses thrown out of the world cup