Breaking News

5 foreign players to play for each team in BPL-5

five foreign players each team


Eight teams are going to take part in the next edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). However, despite the increasing of total number of teams, there won’t increase the number of local players, as the BPL governing committee is most likely to give the participating teams to allow to play five foreign players. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বিপিএল-৫ এ প্রতি দলে খেলতে পারবেন ৫ জন বিদেশী!]

Also Read - Some key changes penned down for BPL-5

On Thursday in a press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, council’s secretary member Ismail Haider Mullick said: “If the participating team number increases, then there will be a void of enough players. So we are considering letting teams play five foreign players in every match. Franchises want this. They want permission to play five foreign teams.”

In almost all the major franchise-based leagues in the world, each team can play with four foreign players. Let it be Indian Premier League, Big Bash League, Pakistan Super League or Caribbean Premier League, four is the standard number of foreign players per match. So it will be really interesting as well as controversial to see five overseas players playing every match in the BPL.

It has also been known that as many as 60 matches will be played in total in the upcoming season of BPL, and that too in three different venues of the country.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

BPL 6 set to be delayed

Live: Comilla Victorians opt to field first

Photo Album: Comilla Victorians vs Chittagong Vikings, Match-5

BPL to telecast worldwide

BCB hopes to arrange home and away basis in BPL coming seasons