Breaking News

BCCI confirmed India’s participation in Champions Trophy

After settling the on-going financial conflict between BCCI, ICC and CoA, the acting President of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) CK Khanna has come out with some good news for the Indian fans and confirmed that the defending champions will play the Champions Trophy which to start from 1st of June, 2017. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ চ্যাম্পিয়ন্স ট্রফিতে অংশগ্রহণ করবে ভারত]

The squad for the tournament to be announced on Monday, May 8. BCCI officials are scheduled to meet on 7th of May in New Delhi for a Special General Meeting.

For the past few days, there have been a lot of confusion over India’s participation in the tournament, which has been cleared yesterday by Khanna.

Also Read - Mumbai qualify for play-offs with a massive win

Former Indian cricketers like Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid were in favor of playing the tournament. Head coach Anil Kumble requested BCCI not to boycott the tournament.

The CoA asked BCCI officials why the deadline was not followed to submit the team through a mail sent to them.

The letter looks like, “It would be appropriate to make all necessary preparations for ensuring that Team India can successfully defend its title in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which commences on 1st June 2017. You are aware that the squad representing India at the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 was to be submitted by 25th April 2017 but the squad has not even been selected as yet. Please convene a meeting of the selection committee for selecting the squad immediately. The squad can then be submitted to the ICC without prejudice to BCCI’s legal rights.”

It further stated that, “Team India should be provided with a supportive environment to showcase Indian cricket instead of being surrounded with uncertainty and confusion. There has been more than enough negativity surrounding Team India’s participation in the ICC Champions Trophy and the sooner the same is put to rest the better.”

India to play with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa in Group B. They won the last edition of the tournament in 2013, and are termed as favorites this year as well.

Source: India express

Tabibul Islam 

Related Articles

India not to play pink ball Test in next 18 months!

ICC look forward to capitalize T10 cricket

Women’s T20 challenge before IPL playoffs

India unlikely to play day-night Test against Australia

High voltage Indo-Pak clash schedule announced for World Cup 2019