Breaking News

Delhi Daredevils defeat Hyderabad by 6 wickets

Bottom ranked team of the tournament Delhi Daredevils achieve a vital 6-wicket win over defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad, at the Feroze Shah Kotla Stadium, in New Delhi, on Tuesday.

SRH got off to a great start after being put in to bat first by DD skipper Karun Nair, as David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan came out all guns blazing. Although the likes of Mohammed Shami and Amit Mishra broke the momentum a little bit, Yuvraj Singh provided a grandstand finish to the innings, smashing an unbeaten 70 off 41 balls, to help SRH put up a challenging total of 185 for 3.

The total seemed to be enough for SRH to notch-up yet another win, but DD openers Sanju Samson and Karun Nair came out firing on all cylinders. Captain Karun smashed a quickfire 39 from 20 balls at the top of the order, giving DD the perfect momentum.

Also Read - BCB announces national team contracted players list & salary grade

Watch the video here-

Despite having a relatively inexperienced lineup, DD kept themselves in the hunt, with the likes of Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer chipping in with crucial innings in the middle overs. However, the star of the show was Corey Anderson, who belted 41 from 24 balls in the death overs, to take DD over the finish line, with five balls remaining.

Also Read- Two second division teams get lifetime ban by BCB

For Hyderabad, Mohammad Siraj finished with figures of 2/41 in his four overs. Mohammad Shami was adjudged the Man of the match as Delhi registered their third win and won an IPL game after five consecutive losses.

Whereas, Sunrisers Hyderabad still remain at the third position with 13 points while Delhi get two important points and still remain in the hunt to make the cut for the play-offs.

Match Summary-

Sunrisers Hyderabad 185/3 (20 overs)
Yuvraj Singh 70*, David Warner 30
Md. Shami 2-36
Delhi Daredevils 189/4 (19.1 overs)
Corey Anderson 41*, Karun Nair 39; Md. Siraj 2-41
Result- Delhi Daredevils won by six wickets
  • Maksudul HAQUE, Correspondent, bdcrictime


Related Articles

Delhi Daredevils upset Mumbai Indians to be in last four

DD outclass CSK by 34 runs

DD earn some pride after a clinical win against CSK

AB-Kohli’s masterclass keep RCB’s playoff hopes alive

Lamichhane becomes first Nepali to make IPL debut