Khulna become champions in Women’s NCL

Bangladesh women team


Khulna Division emerged as the champions of the 8th Women’s National Cricket League. They beat Rajshahi Division by four runs (by D/L method) in the rain-intervened final at the Shaheed Kamaruzzaman Stadium (SKS) in Rajshai on Sunday (May 28).

Also Read - Mashrafe takes positives from the defeat

Coming to bat first after winning the toss, Khulna Division put up a fighting score of 214 for seven in 50 overs largely thanks to skipper Rumana Ahmed’s 77.

Rumana stitched a number of partnerships including 50-runs with Sultana Yesmin for the third wicket and 54-run with Tazia Akhter for the fourth wicket stand that built up a healthy total.

She smashed 77 off 79 ball. Her innings featured 11 fours before being caught and bowled by Lata Mondol. Ayesha Rahman (30), Tazia Akhter (25), Eti Mondal (23) and Sultana Yesmin (23) were the notable contributors for the winning side.

Lata Mondol and Aka Mollik grabbed two wickets each for the local side.

In response to Khulna’s total, Rajshahi lost their opening batter Sharmin Sultan before opening their account. Then they also lost the wicket of Zinnat Ashiya while they were tattering at 2-1.

Then Lata Mondal tried to bring some resistance, and alongside Aka Mollik she combined for a 48-run partnership for the third wicket before Aka’s dismissal for 27. Just four runs later, Lata also sent back for 21.

Ferdousi Ferdousi clouted eight fours and one six in her 72-ball 58 to be left unbeaten, and shared 93 runs with Bristi Roy for the fifth wicket partnership and made a possibility of chasing the target down. Rajshahi were at 150 for five in 39.4 overs but the downpours interrupted and halted the proceedings of the match at 2:14pm.

With no signs of the to stop, the match referee called off the match at 3:27pm. At this stage, Rajshahi needed 155 runs to win (par 155) in 39.4 overs as per D/L method.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Joining Bangladesh was a fast-tracked move: Anju Jain

ICC announces venues for first-ever stand alone Women’s T20 World Cup

Women’s NCL to start on May 16

Female cricketers to get BDT 600 per match

Tigresses thrown out of the world cup