Breaking News

MSC lost to Abahani despite Rakibul’s monstrous ton

MSC lost to Abahani despite Rakibul's monstrous ton In the famed clash between Abahani Limited and Mohammedan Sporting Club, the former have claimed the win in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League (DPL). The triumph was unerringly visible for Abahani Limited right after they posted the gigantic total of 366 runs on the board after batting first. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ রকিবুলের রেকর্ড শতকেও শেষ রক্ষা হল না মোহামেডানের]

Nevertheless, Mohammedan Sporting Club put their best show with the bat to revive the battle, scored 339 runs while chasing the victory target and accepted 27 runs defeat a little while ago at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishthan Ground – 4 in Savar.

Mohammedan Sporting Club started slipping away in the match from the initial overs of the innings, lost 3 wickets as early as in 38 runs.

Also Read - Team Bangladesh passes a day - out at coach's residence

But Rakibul Hasan has had a different mindset for the game, his matchless effort brought Mohammedan back into the game and even at one stage, even a win seemed possible for them against the arch rivals.

Rakibul’s innings was curtailed ten runs short of 200 by Kazi Anik, caught by Manan Sharma in the second delivery of the very last over of MSC’s innings.

190 runs Rakibul scored in 138 deliveries. He stayed more than three hours in the crease to be second last batsman to be departed at the end.

With an enormous strike rate of 137.68, Rakibul Hasan tossed the ball 17 times for four and sent 10 shots forth to sixes.

It was he who hold the innings together for Mohammedan Sporting Club all along the way, the second highest score was made by Charith Asalanka who hammered 63 runs of 60 balls.
For Abahani Limited, Manan Sharma captured 5 wickets giving away 47 runs.

Earlier in the game, spectators witness a pair of excellent hundreds in the innings of Abahani Limited.

Wicket keeper batsman Litton Kumar Das and one down batsman Nazmul Hossain both flicked their respective tons in the match, guided Abahani Limited to stuck the massive score on the board after they won the toss and decided to bat first.

Hundred runs were counted in the opening partnership between Litton Kumar and Sadman Islam. After Sadman was back in the pavilion, Nazmul Hossain and Litton Kumar Das run for another hundred runs partnership.

Together they scored 109 runs in the second wicket partnership, Litton completed his fine knock of hundred; his 135 run came from 103 balls striking 15 fours and 2 sixes.

On the other hand, Nazmul Hossain fetched exact 100 deliveries to score his 110 runs.

At the descending phase of the innings, Shuvagata Hom’s unbeaten 48 runs helped Abahani Limited to stead passed 350 runs mark, ending at 366 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 50 overs.

Brief Score:
Abahani Limited 366/5 (50 overs)
Litton Kumar Das 135, Nazmul Hossain 110, Shuvagata Home 48*
Taijul Islam 3/57, Kamrul Islam Rabbi 1/78, Shamsur Rahman 1/45
Mohammedan Sporting Club 339/9 (50 overs)
Rakibul Hasan 190, C Asalanka 63, Nazmul Milon 22
Manan Sharma 5/47, K Anik 2/72, Saqlain Sajib 1/45
Result: Abahani Limited won by 27 runs.
Toss: Abahani Limited.

Related Articles

Best league in recent memory: Mash

Mashrafe books record in DPL

Mashrafe-Anamul lead Abahani win the league opener

Gazi Group secure league title with game in hand

DPL: Super League to go underway from Wednesday