Prince of Wales to open ICC Champions Trophy action in Oval

Prince of Wales Charles Phillip Arthur George will inaugurate ICC Champions Trophy, 2017 in an occasion on 25th of May at Oval.

A cricket tournament has been arranged with eight primary school teams on account of the opening ceremony of the Champions Trophy. Prince Charles is supposed to meet with cricketers of every team and will hand over the trophy to the winning team of the competition.

Surrey County Club Chairman Richard Thompson and CEO Richard Gold will welcome Prince of Wales outside the new pavilion in Oval.

Also Read - Kiwi coach Hesson hopes to crunch Bangladesh in spin

The eighth edition of the prestigious ICC tournament will take place from 1st to 18th of June this year in England and Wales. A total of 15 matches will be held in three different venues.

Six matches of the tournament including the opening and final match will take place in Oval while remaining match venues are Edgbaston and Cardiff.

Eight top ranked teams is grouped in ‘A’ and ‘B’ to combat each other. Bangladesh, England, New Zealand and Australia are in group ‘A’ while Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and South African are grouped in ‘B’.