Breaking News

Some key changes penned down for BPL-5

key changes for bpl 5


The fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is all set to kick off with a grand opening ceremony on November 2, 2017, confirmed BPL governing committe in a press briefing at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Thursday (May 25).

Also Read - BCCI to replace head coach Anil Kumble after The Champions Trophy

The players draft for BPL 5 will be organised on September 16, and the first match will be held on November 4.

BPL 5 will see the eight franchises compete for the coveted title this year with Sylhet’s return. The fourth edition of BPL, won by Dhaka Dynamites saw seven teams participate in the tournament.

Besides Dhaka, Khulna Titans, Chittagong Vikings, Rajshahi Kings, Rangpur Riders, Comilla Victorians and Barisal Bulls were all seen in action last year.

As there will be 8 teams this year, so the number of matches will also be increased – as many as 60 matches will be played this year.

Three venues are expected to host the coveted tournament. Apart from Mirpur’s Home of Cricket and the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Sylhet International Stadium could be added as the third venue.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

BPL 6 set to be delayed

Live: Comilla Victorians opt to field first

Photo Album: Comilla Victorians vs Chittagong Vikings, Match-5

BPL to telecast worldwide

BCB hopes to arrange home and away basis in BPL coming seasons