Breaking News

Two second division teams get lifetime ban by BCB

bangladesh cricket board
Two second division teams get lifetime ban by BCB .

Sujon Mahmud the controversial bowler of the Lalmatia club has been banned by Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) for ten years along with another cricketer Tasnim Hasan. Whereas their club Lalmatia and fear fighters are banned for the entire life. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ আজীবন নিষিদ্ধ বাংলাদেশি দুই ক্রিকেট ক্লাব]

Lalmatia pacer Sujon gave 92 runs in just four balls as protest to the biased umpiring during the match against Axiom. Which was then the headline throughout the nation. Fear fighters are also alleged for the same crime when one of their pacer Tasnim also conceded 69 runs in 1.1 overs.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) formed a panel with three of their members to investigate the matter. And after their investigation the board have decided to take strict actions against the two second division teams it is confirmed by Sheikh Sohel the member of the BCB and the chairman of the umpires commitee.

Also Read - Sylhet returns, BPL 5 to start in first week of November

Both the clubs are banned for the entire life where as the two guilty cricketers have been banned for ten years. Along with them the managers, captains and coaches of both the teams are also banned for five years. But the umpires for the match are banned for only six months.

Also Read- Sylhet returns, BPL 5 to start in first week of November

Sohel said, ‘We have found in our investigations that the bowlers bowled wide and no-balls deliberately to damage the image of our cricket. In neither case a win or loss would have mattered for the promotion or relegation of their respective club,’ he said’ .

“This incident has dented the reputation of Bangladesh cricket and we have taken a stern step because this was important for us,”  he also added.

  • Maksudul HAQUE, Correspondent, bdcrictime


Related Articles

Kirsten to assist BCB finding new coach

CA offers BCB T20I tri-series

BCB proposes limited-overs series in Australia

Bangladesh named unchanged squad for second T20I

ACB invites Bangladesh in India