Breaking News

Vengeance on offer as Bangladesh take on India


Bangladesh will take on defending champions India on Tuesday (May 30) in their second and last warm-up match ahead of the start of the forthcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in England and Wales. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ আগামীকাল বাংলাদেশের প্রতিপক্ষ বাংলাদেশ]

Also Read - 375 insecured at Oval, thinks Sujon

The match will be held at The Oval in London, with the start time being 3.30pm BdST. The match will be telecast live on the Star Sports Network.

Bangladesh are going into the match with a shocking 2-wicket defeat at the hands of Pakistan in Birmingham on May 27. On the other hand, India won their first warm-up match against New Zealand by 45 runs (DLS method).

Ahead of the India warm-up match, Bangladesh have already reached London on Sunday, though they refused to have any practice session right after their arrival to get rid of the hangover of loss to Pakistan. Bangladeshi players had their share of practice sessions on Monday.

Bangladesh will be looking to win the match against India, as this will help them gain some much needed momentum and also boost them with confidence prior to the proper tournament opener against the hosts England at the same ground on June 1.

In their previous match against Pakistan, Tamim Iqbal smashed a brilliant century while Imrul Kayes also got 61. However, Sabbir Rahman didn’t play the match. It is likely that against India, both Kayes and Sabbir will play, and whoever fares well will have the better opportunity to play against England.

On the other hand, Shakib Al Hasan hasn’t yet got his best of forms, either with the bat or the ball. So it will be also important to see if the maverick all-rounder can get some good numbers to his name before the start of the showpiece event.

In spite of doing relatively bad with the ball, both Taskin Ahmed and Shafiul Islam can once again play and bowl a few overs against India, as there is no hard and fast rules regarding the number of players participating in a warm-up match.

Though Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain were rested in the last match, it is likely that Bangladesh team management will field all their five pacers in this match to give them fare amount of match practice.

The last time Bangladesh played against India in a limited-over match, it was during the ICC World T20 2016 last year, in which the Tigers lost the match by the narrowest margin of one run after failing to pick just 2 runs off last 3 balls. So when these two teams will lock horns with each other once again, some sweet revenge will be on offer for the Tigers.

Bangladesh SQUAD: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Somya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehdi Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam

India SQUAD: India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Bangladesh ahead of Australia

Bangladesh get over 150 matches in new FTP

Rhodes expects live wickets in Caribbean tour

44 Tests slotted for Tigers in 2018-23

Team Tigers in Caribbean Safari