Breaking News

All-round India knock SA out


India have knocked South Africa out of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. The defending champions gained upper-hand by eight wickets in match 11 at The Oval, London.

South Africa were put into bat by India at toss. The Proteas made a slow start again. They scored 35 runs in the first powerplay. Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock made 76-run partnership in 17.3 overs.

Also Read - Silly run-outs dent Proteas' hope

The comeback man Ravichandran Ashwin broke the stand dismissing Amla for 35 runs. de Kock scored his first fifty in the tournament, his 14th in ODI career. He made 53 runs from 72 balls with 4 fours.

South Africa were massively hit after de Kock’s dismissal. AB de Villiers and David Miller became victims of two run outs in two consecutive overs, 29th and 30th. de Villiers could make only 16 runs whereas Miller scored 1. The Proteas captain has gone through a poor form in he tournament.

Faf du Plessis, who was involved in those two run outs, scored 36 off 50. South Africa were put under tremendous pressure as they lost six wickets for 167 runs in 36.4 overs.

A third run out in the innings let India bowl South Africa out for 191 runs in 44.3 overs. JP Duminy was left stranded at the other end with 20* runs in 41 balls. Last eight wickets fell for 51 runs. India’s Jasprit Bumrah an Bhuvneshwar Kumar took two wickets each.

India made a steady start in reply to a low total, scoring 37 runs for one wicket in first ten overs. Morne Morkel got the better of Rohit Sharma (12) in the sixth over. Captain Virat Kohli had a slow start whereas Shikhar Dhawan was enjoying his good run in the tournament. They added 128 runs. It was the fifth century partnership between them for the second wicket in ODIs.

Dhawan scored yet another fifty. He made 83-ball 78 runs hitting 12 fours and a six. He was dismissed by Imran Tahir. But that was too late, too little for South Africa. Kohli smashed unbeaten 76 runs off 106 balls with 7 fours and a six to guide his team to an eight-wicket victory with 12 overs to go.

Yuvraj Singh finished the game off by hitting Duminy for a six. He scored 23* off 25.

India have qualified for the Semi-final as the first team from Group B. They will meet Bangladesh on June 15.

Watch Miller’s wicket here-

Brief scores:

South Africa 191 allout in 44.3 overs (de Kock 53, du Plessis 36; Bhuvneshwar 2/23, Bumrah 2/28)

India 193/2 in 38 overs (Dhawan 78, Kohli 76*; Tahir 1/37, Morkel 1/38)

Result: India won by 8 wickets

Man of the Match: Jasprit Bumrah

-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Duckworth and Lewis believes Australia’s exit from Champions Trophy wasn’t fair

Arthur hopes for a ‘breakout’ in Pakistan cricket after winning CT 2017

Virat and Bumrah sledged Fakhar Zaman in the CT17 Final

‘No one need to tell Dhoni how to bat under pressure’ says Kohli

Younis Khan donates PM prize money to charity