Breaking News

Another T20 league on toss

Another T20 league on toss Amidst the multitude of domestic T20 tournaments around the globe, another name has been added that is ‘T20 Global League’; the new venture from the corner of Africa continent.

Cricket South Africa shoot their own T20 league this time named as ‘T20 Global League’, referred as ‘a special day in the calendar for this country’ when CSA President inaugurated the logo of the tournament at the Wanderers on Wednesday.

Cricket South African President Chris Nenzani and CEO Haroon Lorgat, despite knowing the hard part of it, determined to draw attention of cricketers around the globe during November and December when the league is scheduled to take place.

Also Read - Shakib or Stokes - who will get the salute this time?

On June 19, the day just after the final of ICC Champions Trophy, 2017, they will announce eight franchises names at Lord’s and thereafter the players draft will be held in August.

Each team will have 17 players with one assured marquee performer from South Africa and one from international category.

Apart from that, each team will have to include two cricketers from under – 23 age group who have not had the opportunity to play international cricket before.

The eight marquee cricketers selected from South Africa who will be in the eight franchise teams according to their geographical locations are – Hashim Amla, Quinton De Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir.

Eight international selected marquee players are – Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle (West Indies), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen and Jason Roy (England).

Related Articles

Watch De Villiers’s 69 in 39 balls against SRH

That’s Spiderman stuff: Kohli

Watch: de Villiers’ six lands outside the stadium

A terrific fielding exhibition of Villiers

AB-Kohli’s masterclass keep RCB’s playoff hopes alive