Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has shared his thoughts on England captain’s controversial survive to Tamim Iqbal’s claimed catch. He thought that the umpires should have taken a closer look. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ থার্ড আম্পায়ারের তড়িঘড়িতে অসন্তুষ্ট মাশরাফি]
It was on the fourth ball of the 36th over bowled by Mashrafe when Morgan, on 22, chipped the ball to Tamim at long-on. Tamim made a great affort diving forward. He and Bangladesh fielders claimed that it was a catch. But umpire S Ravi gave it not out as soft signal. When it was referred to third umpire Bruce Oxenford, he didn’t take much time to call it not out. Bangladesh’s centurion of the match was immensely disappointed with that decision
“I just came from the field and haven’t seen the replay so I won’t say anything about that. The decision that the umpire takes is final,” Mashrafe replied when asked about that incident.
Bangladesh skipper thinks the third umpire should have taken a better look on the replay. He said that Tamim still believed that it was a catch.
“Tamim was completely convinced that it was a catch. But maybe the umpires saw things more clearly. At the end of the day the fielder’s feeling is very important. He [Tamim] still believes that it was a catch. It would have been better if they had taken a closer look, although I don’t know if the decision was taken too quickly, but perhaps it would be better if they had taken a closer look,” he said.
Morgan went on to score 61-ball 75* with 8 fours and 2 sixes and led his side to victory in the opening match.
-Ruffin, Correspondent, bdcrictime.com