Gazi Group secure league title with game in hand

Gazi Group secure league title with game in hand.
Gazi Group secure league title with game in hand.

The Gazi Group Cricketers have won the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPL) yesterday. They have also done this with much ease as their last round match of the 2016-2017 league is yet to be played. It has happened after the Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Cricket club lost to the Abahani Limited on Monday.

Abahani won the Dhanmondi derby by six wickets against the Sheikh Jamal in a important match during their last round of the league. The result also ensured the title for the Gazi Group. They were on their way towards the glory even before the last round. But the Abahani and Prime Doleshwar were still in the title race statistically with 22 points each.

Earlier, it was learned that a defeat for Abahani against Sheikh Jamal will give the Gazi group versus Prime Doleshwar match the status of the unofficial final match of the season. But it will not be that anymore confirmed the cricket committee of Dhaka Metropolis.

Also Read - Tamim misses out a CT record by 5 runs

Though, Abahani have leveled with Gazi group completing 24 points defeating the Sheikh Jamal. But Gazi are announced as the champion with their last match still remaining according to the by laws of the tournament. Which states- If the points of the two teams are equal at the end of the league, the team ahead in the head to head matches result shall win the tournament.

This is where the Gazi Group are ahead of both the Abahani Limited and the Prime Doleshwar. Therefore, even if Mominul, Anamul, and Nasir’s side lose their last match, they will still win the tournament eventually.

  • Maksudul HAQUE, Correspondent, bdcrictime