‘I would be happy to bat through rain’, says Steve Smith

'I would be happy to bat through rain' says Steve Smith After going through two washed out matches in the ICC Champions Trophy, reigning world title holder Australia’s skipper Steve Smith seems bugged up enough in their chance of going through to the next round. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বৃষ্টিতেই ব্যাট করতে চেয়েছিলেন স্মিথ]

With sheer frustration, Smith told they would even have agreed to bat through rain if match officials opted for a result in the occasion.

“Of course I was happy to keep batting through the rain but the umpires would make the decision. A little bit frustrating not to get the result in” – Steve Smith said after the match.

Also Read - 'No contract, can't play', says Warner in CA dig

“The grounds men could have shown a bit more urgency. The umpire had said an 8.30 start and you had to do what the umpire said” – he said.

The Aussie captain reckoned that the fact that drinks was on offer at the end of the 16th over might impact umpire’s decision to seize the game as it started raining.

Australia’s first match of the tournament which was against New Zealand also abandoned due to rain and the two teams shared points. They will, now, have to beat host England in their next match to keep hopes alive for receiving the next round ticket.

Meanwhile Bangladesh was defeated by England in their first match of the tournament.