Breaking News

Preview: India vs Sri Lanka, CT17, Match 8


Preview: India vs Sri Lanka, CT17, Match 8

India were ruthless against Pakistan, Sri Lanka had a forgettable day against South Africa. And now these two teams, since their last ODI clash 934 days ago, are all set to lock horns with each other in the 8th match of the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy 2017. The match will be held at The Oval in London.

Also Read - MS Dhoni reveals the name of toughest bowler he faced

The teams had last played each other on November 16, 2014, when India beat Sri Lanka by 3 wickets while chasing 288. Their last match at a neutral venue took place on February 28, 2014 at Fatullah in Asia Cup. In the last 17 matches between these sides, going back to 2012, India have won 14.

India will most likely stick with the same squad and strategy which defeated Pakistan by 124 runs. If India can win this game then their path to the knockout stages is almost certain and hence it is imperative that they maintain their winning momentum. A loss for the island nation will most likely see them get knocked out.

On the other hand, led by Angelo Matthews, the young brigade of Sri Lanka do not look confident. However, they will be hoping to make a dent into the Indian teams confidence. With Lasith Malinga coming back in the squad it will be a massive boost for Sri Lanka as he also brings in tons of experience. While the young side from the island nation may play with a do-or-die attitude, it may also go against them as the chances of succumbing to the pressure remain high.

The weather is predicted to be cloudy but dry, meaning we are likely to get a full game. There was a bit of grass on the surface, and with cloudy over head conditions, you can expect the pitch to assist the fast bowlers for atleast the initial overs.

Sri Lanka (possible) 1 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 2 Danushka Gunathilaka 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Dinesh Chandimal, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt), 6 Asela Gunaratne, 7 Kusal Perera, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Suranga Lakmal,10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Nuwan Pradeep

India (possible) 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Hardik Pandya, 6 MS Dhoni (wk), 7 Kedar Jadhav, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Umesh Yadav, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Related Articles

Tamim’s South Africa tour ends

Yuvraj accused for domestic violence

Mominul included in ODI squad

SA ODI squad announced; Bavuma, Paterson in

‘Aussies didn’t sledge Kohli and Co. for IPL contracts’