Shakib dissatiesfied with ‘unusual’ lbw decision

0

Shakib surprised by umpire's lbw decision

Number one ranked all rounder Shakib Al Hasan seemed to be dissatisfied with the lbw decision that was given to him during the rain interrupted clash between Bangladesh and Australia, on Monday. He expressed his dissatisfaction while talking to the media after the match.

The 30-year old Bangladesh all rounder came out of his crease as he attempted to play down the ground, but was struck on the pad. Nigel Llong who was the on field umpire, raised his finger as soon as the the Australian fielders appealed.

Also Read - Shakib wants to cash in on the good fortune

Although Shakib immediately take DRS, tracking technology showed the ball was going on to hit the stumps, while the point of impact was deemed ‘umpires call’ and as such, the batsman was on his way.

“Normally they (umpires) don’t give out when the batsman is well forward. If the umpire thinks it was out then I have nothing to say on the matter,” Shakib said.

He further added, “But it’s unusual for a batsman to be given out lbw after coming down the wicket – I’ve never witnessed something like that before,”

Shakib lastly hoped that the umpires would continue giving such decisions in future to other batsmen too.

“Since umpires have started giving this type of decisions I hope consistency is maintained; let’s see what happens next,” he concluded

-Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor, bdcrictime.com