That was out, say Tait and Vaughan

tait vaughan believe it was outYesterday Bangladesh took on the hosts England in the their first match of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Bangladesh batted first and out up a fighting score of 305, with Tamim Iqbal scoring a brilliant century and Mushfiqur Rahim complimenting him with a brisk 70 plus innings. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ তামিমের ক্যাচকে আউট মানছেন টেইট-ভনরাও]

But the the hosts chased down the total comfortably with 8 wickets in hand and 16 balls to spare. However the conclusion could’ve been a little different had Tamim Iqbal’s claimed catch of Eoin Morgan had been given.

It was on the fourth ball of the 36th over of the match.Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was bowling to Morgan,who was on 22.Morgan chipped the ball to Tamim at long-on. Tamim made a great effort diving forward and he claimed that he took the catch clean. But umpire S Ravi gave not out as the soft signal. When it was referred to third umpire Bruce Oxenford, he didn’t take much time to call it not out.Tamim was furious and immensely disappointed with that decision.

Also Read - Lions cornered Tigers in Lion's den

But it’s not only Tamim, ex-cricketers like the former Australian fast bowler Shaun Tait and Former English captain Michael Vaughan think that tamim was right and it was a clean catch.

The wicket of Morgan could’ve added some drama in the match.However that was not the case.As Morgan went on to score 61-ball 75* with 8 fours and 2 sixes and led his side to an easy victory in the opening match.

– Ashfaq Niloy, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Watch: AB de Villier’s retirement declaration from international Cricket

Tamim’s South Africa tour ends

Yuvraj accused for domestic violence

Mominul included in ODI squad

SA ODI squad announced; Bavuma, Paterson in