Wahab Riaz ruled out of the tournament

0

Wahab Riaz rules out of the tournament Pakistan left arm pacer Wahab Riaz has been ruled out of rest of the matches of ICC Champions Trophy after twisting his deltoid ligament complex during the match against India.

Scan report has showed that he would need around two weeks to recover from the strain. Wahab Riaz bowled 7.4 overs at the Edgbaston against India when his right ankle twisted restricting him to participate in the match further. Imad Wasim took his place after that.

Riaz was not fully fit prior to the match but Pakistan coach Mickey Arthur blew off such claims saying the left arm seamer passed the fitness test before the occasion.

Also Read - Live: Aussie bowlers blitz Tigers for 182

“Alright, let’s get something straight first off. Wahab Riaz was fully fit. He went through a fitness test, he was fully fit. So, it’s not that Wahab Riaz was not fit. He was fit for the game, okay? He performed poorly today. But he had a role to play. And, I will take the blame, me, I will take it. I selected him. I selected him because I wanted him to perform a role, okay? He didn’t execute the role, unfortunately. So, sometimes, it works out. Sometimes it doesn’t” – Mickey Arthur delivered after the match that Pakistan lost by 124 runs.