Afghanistan to replace Australia ‘A’ to tour South Africa

Afghanistan to replace Australia 'A' to tour South Africa The pay dispute between Cricket Australia and Australian Cricketers’ Association forced Australia ‘A’ team to abandon the tour of South Africa hence Afghanistan will now replace Australia for the occasion.

Captained by Usman Khawaja, Australia ‘A’ were scheduled to play two four day matches in their South Africa tour and a limited over tri series against India and the host nation.

During the stagnant pay talks between CA and ACA, Australia ‘A’ cricketers decided to boycott the whole tour earlier.

Also Read - Miraz to leave for CPL on July 27

Releasing a statement of having Afghanistan to replace Australia, Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said, ““We are delighted that Afghanistan has accepted our invitation and look forward to welcoming them to our country for the very first time. They are a passionate cricket nation and I expect the Afghanistan A team to compete strongly against our A team and India A in the upcoming tri-series.”

On the other hand, Afghanistan Cricket Board Chief Executive Shafiqullah Stanikzai also spoke on the issue.

He said, “We are very pleased to accept Cricket South Africa’s invitation to participate in the upcoming triangular series”. “This will be our first-ever visit to South Africa and I am certain that this will give Afghanistan ‘A’ team very good exposure to competitive cricket.”

It can be noted Afghanistan gained Test status last month to become one of the 12 elite members of International Cricket Council.