Dhawan replaces Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

Dhawan replaces Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

Shikhar Dhawan has been included in the 16-man India squad to replace Murali Vijay for the the three-match rubber against Sri Lanka starting July 26 as the later was on Monday (July 17) ruled out of the Test series due to a wrist injury

BCCI sent a press release which read: “The senior selection committee on Monday named Shikhar Dhawan as the replacement for injured Murali Vijay in the Test team, which is scheduled to travel to Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series.

Also Read - In-form Waller roped in by Rajshahi

“Vijay, who had suffered a wrist injury during Australia’s tour of India, has complained of pain in his right wrist, while playing a preparatory match. The BCCI medical team has therefore advised that Vijay should continue his rehabilitation program.”

Dhawan, who is a regular in the Indian ODI side, has played 23 Tests and averages 38.52. He has four hundreds to his credit in an accumulated 1464 runs. He last played a Test for India in 2016 against New Zealand in a home series.

The 31-year-old Dhawan last featured for India in a Test against New Zealand in September 2016 losing his place after a string of mediocre performances.

Dhawan’s last Test hundred was scored against Sri Lanka in Galle in 2015 and he will be hoping to recapture that form to regain his spot at the top of the order in the longest format.

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Tamim’s South Africa tour ends

Yuvraj accused for domestic violence

Mominul included in ODI squad

SA ODI squad announced; Bavuma, Paterson in

‘Aussies didn’t sledge Kohli and Co. for IPL contracts’