Breaking News

Highlights: India on high after day-two’s game

India on high after day-two's game

India started day-two’s game from 329-6, and lost Wriddhiman Sana in the second over of the match. After the early lose, Kuldeep Yadav and Hardik Pandya put a stand of 62 runs in the eighth wicket partnership and helped India to cross 400 runs in the first innings.

Yadav went for 26 but Pandya continued to dominate. He brought up fifty and converted it into century. On the way to hammer century, 30-year old record has been broken by him. The hard hitter-batsman, scored 26 runs from an over to become first Indian cricketer to score more runs from an over in Tests.

Also Read - Tamim survives ill-fated accident

However, before getting out, he scored 96-ball 108 runs, by smashing 7 sixes and 8 fours. By leading on his shoulder, India got a total of 487 runs in the first innings of third Test against the host.

In reply, Sri Lankan batsmen failed to prove their best effort one more time with the bat. Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella tried hard in the middle but it was not enough for the host. Infront of Indian dominating bowling line-up, Sri Lanka got all-out only playing 37.4 overs. They were able to add 135 runs in the first innings. Hence, They were trapped in follow-on.

Kuldeep Yadav was tremendous with the ball, he bagged a total number of 4 wickets. Apart from his effort, Ashwin, Shami each took 2 wickets.

But one more time, the home side failed to get a proper start as they lost Upul Tharanga’s wicket before the end of second day’s play.

Watch the highlights of second day’s game of Third Test here-

India (1st innings): 487 all-out ( Dhawan 119, Pandya 108; Rahul 85; Sandakan 132/5)
Sri Lanka (1st innings): 135 all-out (Chandimal 48, Dickwella 29; K Yadav 40/4)

Sri Lanka (F/O): 19/1 (Karunaratne 12*, Tharanga 7; U Yadav 3/1)

Related Articles

Mumbai keep hopes alive with comforting win against KKR

Hardik, Karthik named in ICC World XI for Windies T20I

Watch: It’s the bat flying high, not the ball!

Out or Not Out? What happened there?

India announce squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018