Top Pakistani cricketers deserted in Uganda!

In a ludicrous incident in the far corner of east Africa, about twenty Pakistani cricketers including top names like Saeed Ajmal and Imran Farhat have been locked in Uganda.

Top Pakistani cricketers deserted in Uganda!

The Pakistani cricketers arrived in Kampala, the capital of Uganda to play a T20 league when they got to know about the abandonment of the league upon pay disputes among organizers.

Also Read - Rohit reveals scoring secret: 'I try to bat according to field'

The Pakistani cricketers, therefore, demanded the 50% of their proposed payment after the initial two days of the league were went astray but they were eventually refused by the organizers as sponsors of the league withdrew their names.

“It was then that we were told payments could not be made since the main sponsor of the league had backed out and there was no money,” one of the players told PTI.

“We wanted to leave immediately for home but on reaching the airport we were told that since the organizers had defaulted on other payments the travel agency, which had issued tickets, had blocked all seats and we had to return to the hotel,” he said.

“Hopefully, we should be home by Saturday but it has been a bad experience for us. Instead of earning money, we had to spend out of our own pockets,” he added.

Pakistani cricketers went to the east African nation after taking due permission from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

However, PCB has been investigating the issue and stated, “We had inquired about the bonafides of the league from the ICC. Only after we were advised by the ICC that the Afro T20 League has been approved by them and is being played under the umbrella of the Uganda Cricket Association, we issued NOCs to the players.”

Related Articles

3 Occasions when Ireland defeated big teams

Pakistan announce T20I squad for the series against Scotland

Hafeez questions ICC’s policies about suspected bowling action

PCB announces squad for Ireland and England tours

Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka in same group