Breaking News

Stokes again prices go above Rs 10 crore

Ahead of the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), player auction for the tournament has been started on Saturday. Total 78 players were sold in the first day of 2-day auction, among 29 were foreign players including Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and young pacer Mustafizur Rahman.

After the end of the first day’s auction, the costliest five cricketers are Ben Stokes, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul, Chris Lyn and Mitchell Starc respectively. Stokes who had been bought for Rs 14.5 crore (USD 2.28 million) by Rising Pune Supergiants during last year’s auction, once again emerged the costliest buy as the hard-hitting all-rounder was snapped up for a whopping Rs 12.5 crore (USD 1.96 million) by Rajasthan Royals.

Middle-order batsman Manish Pandey and opener KL Rahul were the second costliest pick of the day with Rs 11 crore (USD 1.73 million). Rahul was picked by the Kings XI Punjab while Pandey bagged deal from Sunrisers Hyderabad. The next to costliest players Australia’s Chris Lyn and Mitchell Starc were sold for Rs 9.6 crore and Rs. 9.4 crore.

Also Read - We expected to win having come this far: Mashrafe

Apart from these five players, Afghanistan leg spinner Rashid Khan and Aussie all-rounder Glenn Maxwell both were sold for Rs 9 crore by Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Daredevils respectively. Krunal Pandya was picked by Mumbai Indians for Rs 8.8 crore. Rajasthan Royals bought Sanju Samson for Rs. Crore while Kedar Jadhav was picked by Chennai Super Kings for 7.8 crore.

It is to be mentioned that Tigers all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was sold for Rs crore while pacer Mustafizizur Rahman bagged deals worth Rs 2.2 crore from Mumbai Indians.

Here is the full list of sold and unsold players after the first day of auction :

1. Ben Stokes (RR) 12.5Cr

2. Manish Pandey (SRH) 11.0Cr

3. KL Rahul (KXIP) 11.0Cr

4. Chris Lynn (KKR) 9.6Cr

5. Mitch Starc (KKR) 9.4Cr

6. Glenn Maxwell (DD) 9.0Cr

7. Rashid khan (SRH) 9.0Cr

8. Krunal Pandya (MI) 8.8Cr

9. Sanju Samson (RR) 8.0Cr

10. Kedar Jadhav (CSK) 7.8Cr

11. Ashwin (KXIP) 7.6Cr

12. Dinesh Karthik (KKR) 7.4Cr

13. Chris Woakes (RCB) 7.4Cr

14. Jofra Archer (RR) 7.2Cr

15. DJ Bravo (CSK) 6.4Cr

16. Robin Uthappa (KKR) 6.4Cr

17. Ishan Kishan (MI) 6.2Cr

18. Marcus Stoinis (KXIP) 6.2Cr

19. Aaron Finch (KXIP) 6.2Cr

20. Yujivendra Chahal (RCB) 6.0Cr

21. Kuldeep Yadav(KKR) 5.8Cr

22. Karun Nair (KXIP) 5.6Cr

23. Kieron Pollard (MI) 5.4Cr

24. Pat Cummins (MI) 5.4Cr

25. Dhawan (SRH) 5.2Cr

26. Karn Sharma (CSK) 5.0Cr

27. Saha (SRH) 5.0Cr

28. Jos Butler (RR) 4.4Cr

29. Kagiso Rabada (DD) 4.2Cr

30. Umesh Yadav (RCB) 4.2Cr

31. Piyush Chawla (KKR) 4.2Cr

32. Darcy Short (RR) 4.0Cr

33. Ajinkya Rahane (RR) 4.0Cr

34. Shane Watson (CSK) 4.0Cr

35. Amit Mishra (DD) 4.0Cr

36. Siddarth Kaul (SRH) 3.8Cr

37. Deepak Hooda (SRH) 3.6Cr

38. McCullum (RCB) 3.6Cr

39. Nitish Rana (KKR) 3.4Cr

40. Rahul Tripathi (RR) 3.4Cr

41. Kamlesh Nagarkoti (KKR) 3.2Cr

42. Vijay Shankar (DD) 3.2Cr

43. Surya Kumar Yadav (MI) 3.2Cr

44. Ankit Singh Rajpoot (KXIP) 3.0Cr

45. Navdeep Saini (RCB) 3.0Cr

46. Syed khaleel Ahmed (SRH) 3.0Cr

47. Rahul Tewatia (DD) 3.0Cr

48. David Miller (KXIP) 3.0Cr

49. Kane Williamson (SRH) 3.0Cr

50. Mohammed Shami (DD) 3.0Cr

51. Quinton De cock (RCB) 2.8Cr

52. Gautam Gambhir (DD) 2.8Cr

53. De Grandhome (RCB) 2.2Cr

54. Ambati Rayudu (CSK) 2.2Cr

55. Mustafizur Rahman (MI) 2.2Cr

56. Harbajan Singh (CSK) 2.0Cr

57. Shakib Al Hasan (SRH) 2.0Cr

58. Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) 2.0Cr

59. Carlos Brathwite (SRH) 2.0Cr

60. Yusuf Pathan (SRH) 1.9Cr

61. Colin Munro (DD) 1.9Cr

62. Shubman Gill (KKR) 1.8Cr

63. Moeen Ali (RCB) 1.7Cr

64. Du Plessis (CSK) 1.6Cr

65. Jason Roy (DD) 1.5Cr

66. Prithvi Shaw (DD) 1.2Cr

67. Manan Vohra (RCB) 1.1Cr

68. Imran Tahir (CSK) 1.0Cr

69. Mayank Agarwal (KXIP) 1.0Cr

70. Basil Thampi (SRH) 95L

71. Kulwant Khejroliya (RCB) 85L

72. Avesh Khan (DD) 70L

73. Stuart Binny (RR) 50L

74. T Natarajan (SRH) 40L

75. Aniket Choudary (RCB) 30L

76. Harshal Patel (DD) 20L

77. Ishank Jaggi (KKR) 20L

78. Ricky Bhui (SRH) 20L


1. Guptil Unsold

2. Amla Unsold

3. Vijay Unsold

4. Gayle Unsold

5. Root Unsold

6. Faulkner Unsold

7. Pardhiv Unsold

8. Naman Ojha Unsold

9. Bairstow Unsold

10. Sam Billings Unsold

11. Johnson Unsold

12. Hazlewood Unsold

13. Southee Unsold

14. Ishant Unsold

15. McClenagan Unsold

16. Malinga Unsold

17. Ish Sodhi Unsold

18. Badree Unsold

19. Zampa Unsold

20. Himanshu Rana Unsold

21. Siddesh Lad Unsold

22. Shivam Dube Unsold

23. Jitesh Sharma Unsold

24. Nikhil Naik Unsold

25. Ben McDermott Unsold

26. Aditya Tare Unsold

27. Ankush Bains Unsold

28. Vishnu Vinod Unsold

29. Sheldon Jackson Unsold

30. Prashant Chopra Unsold

31. Rajneesh Gubrani Unsold

– Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor,

Related Articles

Series decider between World XI & Pakistan to be held tonight

World XI take on Pakistan tonight

World XI reach safely in Pakistan

No Indian cricketer in World XI to tour Pakistan

Faf du Plessis to captain World XI in Lahore