No ‘no balls’, no demerit points – the penalty was more ominous than that when it mated out straight into the team score. During a Sheffield Shield match between Queensland and Western Australia at the Gabba in Brisbane, an on field humor turned out expensive for his side as acting umpires cut out five runs from Queensland’s total.
Mathew Renshaw, the Australian batsman from the Queensland side, collected a throw wearing wicket keepers’ gloves during the match after keeper Jimmy Pierson left out his gloves to chase a ball.
Renshaw tooled the gloves, picked up the ball and returned it to the owner when he was back in his position.
This persuaded the match officials to turn over the page of law book, in which, according to written rules, wicket keepers are the only cricketer to wear gloves during the fielding.
The umpires took the call of slapping Queensland with a five run penalty.
Later on in an interview with cricket.com.au, Renshaw revealed he did it out of mere joke.
He said, “The glove dropped right next to me so I thought it’d be quite funny to put the glove on and try and take a catch with the glove on. I didn’t really think of the rule at the time, I just thought it’d be quite funny. But the umpires came together and said it was five penalty runs. I know that you’re not supposed to do it, but I thought it was just one of those frowned upon things.”