Breaking News

ICC elevates all T20 matches of associate countries to international standard

Important decisions have emerged in the last day of the International Cricket Council’s meeting in Kolkata. Under the consideration of globalization of cricket, the highest authority of cricket have green signaled to all T20 matches gaining international status and therefore, launching a global ranking of T20 cricket.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, “We are committed to growing the game and T20 is the vehicle through which we’ll do this.”

Also Read - Mashrafe hopes to back in Test cricket

All women’s team of associate member countries will gain T20I status from while men’s teams will be eligible on 1st of January 2019.

Rankings for women and men will be introduced in October 2018 and May 2019 respectively.

The final structure of the Future Tour Program from 2019 to 2023 includes the following:
ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019, 2023
ICC World T20 – 2020, 2021
ICC World Test Championship Final – 2021, 2023
World Test Championship
Cycle 1 – 2019-2021
Cycle 2 – 2021-2023
ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League – 2020-2022

“This set of meetings has seen some significant decisions made for the long term good of the game. Signing off the FTP has been the result of unwavering commitment from all Members to get to this point and we look forward to the commencement of both the new ICC World Test Championship and ODI League in 2019 and 2020 respectively,” said ICC CEO David Richardson.

Related Articles

Watch: Rashid khan gives 24 runs in an over

Shami replaces Pandya in the ICC World XI squad

ICC thinking of scrapping coin toss

ICC look forward to capitalize T10 cricket

Hafeez questions ICC’s policies about suspected bowling action