10 Pakistani players dropped from England Tour

After the test of COVID-19 presence in the second phase, ten players have been dropped from Pakistan’s cricket team for its England tour. The Pakistan cricket board (PCB) officially said on Saturday (27 June).

PCB cancels practice session, Pakistan to leave for England early

Pakistan Cricket Board chief executive Wasim Khan said that dropped players could join again with the team if they later test negative. Therefore, the 20 members squad is due to leave on Sunday (28 June). The PCB announced that these players have  been permitted to fly England on Sunday to play three Tests and three T-20s.

PCB has named the players dropped from the tour. The 10 players are Haider Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Kashif Bhatti, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan, Mohammad Hafeez. But four of them are still COVID-19 positive. They are Haider, Kashif, Rauf and Imran. And other six (who have already test negative) will have to produce another negative before going to UK.

Also Read - Sehwag shares scary video of Locust attack

PCB confirmed that, the squad will be led by Azhar Ali and Babar Azam will be the deputy for the Test matches. The T-20 team will be led by Babar. Although, there is still no clear confirmation on the dates for the series which the ECB are planning to held behind-closed-doors.

“They (Pakistan team) will start a 14-day isolation period at Blackfinch New Road, Worcester before transferring to Derbyshire’s The Incora County Ground on July 13 to accelerate their preparation ahead of the first Test, which will include two four-day internal warm-up matches,” stated the ECB.

“All members of the tour party will have been tested prior to travel. Those who are testing positive for COVID-19 will not be permitted to travel with the advance group on Sunday,” it added.

Pakistan squad:

Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmad, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Rohail Nazir, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari and Yasir Shah.

Related Articles

BCB Strength & Conditioning Coach Nick Lee tested Corona positive

Finch targets retirement after 2023 World Cup final

One cricketer tests positive for coronavirus in second phase

Mental health is something to monitor heavily: Finch

Hardik reveals name of his newborn baby