NCC begins from 1st June


Jannatul Naym Pieal

The National Cricket Championship-2015 will begin across the country from June 1, said Bangladesh Cricket Board officials on Tuesday. It’s going to be the 35th eedition of the tournament.

Also Read - Video Clip: Shakib Al Hasan 60 off 38 balls vs RCB in IPL

Although teams from all 64 districts take part in the NCC, which is played in the 50-over format, will be played in just 14 venues across the country.

According to the format of the tournnent, eight teams will qualify for the second phase after completing the group phase.

Dhaka Division will have two teams while the other six teams will represent their respective divisions.

“All the matches will be played in turf wickets unlike before, when it used to be introduced only in the second phase,” Akram Khan, BCB’s tournament committee chairman told reporters on Tuesday.

“We have selected 14 venues considering rain,” added Akram, the former Bangladesh national team captain.

It has been further learnt that the champions will be awarded Tk 5 lakh while the runners-up will earn Tk 2.5 lakh. 1 of 1