NCL final round from Saturday


Jannatul Naym Pieal

The sixth and the final round of the ongoing Walton LED TV 17th National Cricket League (NCL) 2015-16 will commence on Saturday, October 31, in four different venues across the country.

Also Read - Young Tigers School Cricket from next year

In a Tier-1 match, Dhaka Division and Dhaka Metropolis will face each other at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium at the beach city Cox’s Bazar. In the other match of the top tier, title holders Rangpur Division will lock horns with the tournament favourites Khulna Division. The match will be hosted by the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in port city Chittagong.

In the Tier-2 match, Chittagong Division will face Barisal Division at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra. In the other match of the bottom tier to be held at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna, Rajshahi Division will play against Sylhet Division.

Khulna Division are currently leading the top tier and most probably are going to clinch the title this season, which they lost to Rangpur Division in the previous year. On the other hand, Barisal Division have advanced to the top slot of the bottom tier and already sealed their spot into the top tier for the next season.

All the matches will start at 9.30am on Saturday. However, the all-important final round of the first-class cricket tournament will not feature the big names of the national side as the top national cricketers, who have been named in the 18-member preliminary squad for the Zimbabwe series, have already started practicing under the supervision of coach Chandika Hathurusingha in the national camp from October 29. 1 of 1