Tigers to leave for South Africa today

Tigers to leave for South Africa today

Bangladesh are set to tour South Africa for the first time in nine years. The Tigers will leave Dhaka on Saturday for a full bilateral series against the powerhouse Proteas.

The members of the team will divided into two flights. Mahmudullah Riyad, Taijul Islam, Litton Das, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, pace bowling coach Courtney Walsh and chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu have left at 10 am. Rest of the members will leave at 7 pm in the evening.

Also Read - Dhoni's inclusion a certainty for 2019 WC: Shastri

The rest of the coaching stuffs are enjoying holidays. Head coach Chandika Hathurusingha and co. will join the team in South Africa.

Opener Tamim Iqbal, who was in Pakistan to play T20I series for ICC World XI, won’t be with the team in the flight.  He is expected to return on Saturday night. He will fly for South Africa on Sunday.

Bangladesh last toured South Africa in 2008. A 15-member Test squad was announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) last week. Star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been rested for the two Tests.

Bangladesh will play a three-day warm-up game on September 21-23. The first Test will begin from September 28 in Potchefstroom. The second Test will start from October 6 in capital city Bloemfontein. The full series also includes three ODIs and two T20Is.


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

BCB President to ask Hathurusinghe reasons behind team’s failure

Miller’s fastest T20I hundred secures clean sweep for South Africa

Live: Bangladesh to bowl despite winning toss

BCB president not satisfied with Taskin-Mustafizur’s performance

This innings has no value: Soumya