MCC honors Shakib to be a member of World Cricket Committee

One more feather has been tinged in the glorifying journey of cricket for world number one all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan; the sumptuous performer is taken as one of the members of World Cricket Committee of the historical Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

Formed in 1787, Marylebone Cricket Club is the sole authority to institute and amend laws upon which the game of cricket is based and played.

The task of International Cricket Council (ICC) is to review and implement laws produce by MCC.

Also Read - Mominul included in ODI squad

The World Cricket Committee of Marylebone Cricket Club was formed in 2006 in which renowned cricketers from present and past are included including some match officials. The meeting of World Cricket Committee takes place in every two years where rules and laws of cricket are discussed and renewed if needed before submitting the annexure to ICC.

The present World Cricket Committee is chaired by former English batsman Mike Gatting. He has taken into effect from 1st of October, 2017 after Anil Kumble’s term was over.

The present member of the World Cricket Committee are formed by legendary cricketers like Kumar Sangakkara, Steven Roger Waugh, Ricky Ponting and Sourav Ganguly which has been enjoined by Shakib Al Hasan now.

Upon receiving the letter from MCC, Shakib Al Hasan expressed his pleasure and thanked MCC for the honor. He said, “I’m feeling myself lucky enough to be a part of the World Cricket Committee. Thanks for honoring me in this regard.”

The first meeting of the new committee will be held on 9th and 10th of January, 2018 in Sydney. 1 of 1

Related Articles

Indian players in the ICC Hall of Fame

Sachin forced to retire?

Shastri to be paid RS 8 crore

Shastri settles for lesser monetary amount than Kumble

Shastri says he will allow cricketers to have fun