SA ODI squad announced; Bavuma, Paterson in

SA ODI squad announced; Bavuma, Paterson in

Dane Paterson has earned a maiden ODI call-up as Cricket South Africa announces 14-man squad for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বাংলাদেশের বিপক্ষে দক্ষিণ আফ্রিকার শক্তিশালী ওয়ানডে দল ঘোষণা]

Paterson was called in for the second Test as a replacement for injured Morne Morkel, who won’t be available for next four-six weeks. The right-arm seamer took career-best four wickets for 32 runs in a T20I against England.

Also Read - Shakib to play 10-over tournament as icon player

“Dane did very well in the T20 International Series against England earlier this year, particularly when it came to death bowling. We now want to see if he can do a similar job in the 50 overs format,” said CSA convener of selectors Linda Zondi.

Temba Bavuma has played only one ODI in his career, last year against Ireland and scored a century opening the batting. He has been given the chance to prove himself in white-ball cricket. The right-handed batsman has been a regular face in South Africa’s Test team. His exceptional fielding skills might help the Proteas in limited-overs cricket.

Chris Morris is another man to be ruled out due to injury. He continues to recover from back problem. Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj has been left though he was included in practice match squad.

The squad includes big names like skipper Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir and Kagiso Rabada.

The first of the three ODIs will be played on October 15 at Diamond Oval, Kimberley.

South Africa ODI squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada


-Ruffin, Corresponent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

BCB President to ask Hathurusinghe reasons behind team’s failure

Miller’s fastest T20I hundred secures clean sweep for South Africa

Live: Bangladesh to bowl despite winning toss

BCB president not satisfied with Taskin-Mustafizur’s performance

This innings has no value: Soumya