Tigers look to fightback in ODIs

Tigers look to fightback in ODIs

Bangladesh will look to keep Test disappointments behind as they are strengthened by the return of senior players Shakib Al Hasan and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza for the ODIs. South Africa will be looking to continue flying form at home. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ প্রথম ওয়ানডের জন্য বাংলাদেশের সম্ভাব্য সেরা একাদশ]

Both sides will be playing their first ODIs at Diamond Oval, Kimberley after Champions Trophy in June this year. Bangladesh made their way to the semi-finals in the tournament but South Africa missed out.

Also Read - Bangladesh A seal four-day match

Bangladesh lost the 50-over warm-up match to Cricket South Africa XI which included de Villiers and JP Duminy.

The Tigers have been in superb form in ODIs over the last two and a half years. However, they haven’t won any ODI series since home series against Afghanistan in 2016 and that too by 2-1. They have won only four ODIs away from home this year.

The Proteas have been in unbeatable mood at home. They haven’t lost any of their last 14 ODIs at home. They won last three ODIs against England in 2016, 1-0 vs Ireland, 5-0 against Australia and another 5-0 vs Sri Lanka.

The Diamond Oval pitch will be flatter than Potchefstroom and Bloemfontein. The average first innings score on this ground is 259 in List A matches played this year. Four out of six times teams batting first have ended up winning. Kimberley last hosted an ODI in 2013.

South Africa will be boosted by de Villiers’ return with David Miller to make his 100th ODI appearance. Dane Paterson and Temba Bavuma are unlikely to picked for the series opener.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, have selection dilemmas. Tamim Iqbal is still unlikely to play. They will choose one man from Mohammad Saifuddin and Taskin Ahmed.

Likely XIs:

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis (capt), JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir

Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Imrul Kayes/Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mohammad Saifuddin/Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

BCB President to ask Hathurusinghe reasons behind team’s failure

Miller’s fastest T20I hundred secures clean sweep for South Africa

Live: Bangladesh to bowl despite winning toss

BCB president not satisfied with Taskin-Mustafizur’s performance

This innings has no value: Soumya