Zimbabwe to host World Cup Qualifier

Zimbabwe to host World Cup Qualifier

Zimbabwe will host a 10-team World Cup Qualifier in March next year. The tournament will include bottom four ranked full-member teams.

Bangladesh was proposed as the hosts for the World Cup Qualifier 2018. But as the Tigers gained their spot for the 2019 World Cup event in England and Wales by September 30, 2017 deadline, ICC decided to change host country.

Also Read - Ind-Aus series decider abandoned

After board meeting in Auckland, cricket’s governing body shifted the qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe. The hosts along with West Indies, Afghanistan and Ireland will take part in the tournament.

The four full-member nations will be joined by the top four sides from the ICC World Cricket League Championship and the top two from the ICC World Cricket League Division 2. Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Hong Kong are respectively at first, second, third and fourth positions in the ongoing Championship.

The grounds at Takashinga, Bulawayo Athletic Club and in Kwe-Kwe will be used for the tournament alongside Harare Sports Club and Queens Sports Club.


-Ruffin, Correspondent, 1 of 1

Related Articles

Dhawan reveals how to break Rashid Khan’s mystery

India welcome Afghans with massive defeat

Afghanistan all out for 109 in 1st innings

Watch: Shikhar Dhawan launched attack on Rashid Khan

Navdeep Saini to replace Shami in one-off Test