Kings capture second win of the season

Kings capture second win of the season Persistent overcast condition threatened the day but the playing action at the Sher – e – Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka was not stopped anyhow and bottom listed Rajshahi Kings came to win a big match against Sylhet Sixers.

The 146 runs target was not big and quite an ordinary bowling show by Sylhet Sixers’ bowling department made it a lot easier for Rajshahi Kings to chase on.

The Kings have grabbed a 7 wicket win to capture 2 precious points for the team.

Also Read - Photo Album: Comilla Victorians vs Rajshahi Kings, Match-12

Rony Talukdar and Mominul Haque, the two openers of Rajshahi Kings proceeded together building a good foundation at the beginning. After making a 65 runs opening partnership, Rony Talukdar (24 runs off 22 balls) went back to the pavilion; Sylhet Sixers’ captain Nasir Hossain made the necessary breakthrough.

The pocket dynamo Mominul Haque’s success run in this season’s BPL has continued. He played another good knock of 42 runs today playing 36 deliveries with 5 fours and a single six.

Rajshahi Kings was closing towards the hundred when Mominul departed.

Zakir Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim stayed together till the end of the innings. Zakir played an unbeaten knock of fifty. With the help of 4 fours and 3 sixes, Zakir batted 26 balls to scored 51 runs.

Wicket keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim also made a not out 25 runs in 20 balls with 3 boundaries.

In the first innings of the match, Sylhet Sixers’ batsmen accumulated 146 runs after batting first, credit goes to two forty runs innings of Danushka Gunathilaka and Sabbir Rahman respectively.

Both of the Sylhet Sixers’ openers Upul Tharanga and Andre Fletcher who have been the backbone of the team’s success from the beginning of the season, failed to score in Dhaka stage of the tournament.

On Friday, Fletcher faced 2 balls to depart before scoring a single run while Upul Tharanga also dislodged by Mehedi Hasan Miraz in 10.

The Sixers, therefore, continued losing wickets in rest of their innings. Gunathilaka and Sabbir hold for sometime in the midst of the wretched condition of the rest of the batting line up.

Gunathilaka scored 40 off 37 balls and Sabbir scored a 26 ball 41; he hit 4 sixes.

Brief Score:

Sylhet Sixers 146/6 (20 overs)

Danushka Gunathilaka 40, Sabbir Rahman 41, Tim Bresnan 21

Kesrick Williams 2/32, Samit Patel 1/6, Mehedi Hasan 1/12

Rajshahi Kings 150/3 (17.3 overs)

Zakir Hasan 51, Mominul Haque 42, Mushfiqur Rahim 25

Nasir Hossain 1/20, Nabil Samad 1/27, Abul Hasan 1/17

Result: Rajshahi Kings won by 7 wickets.

Toss: Rajshahi Kings. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018