Mesmerizing Mashrafe takes Riders to victory

Mesmerizing Mashrafe takes Riders to victory

One might not consider a 17 runs innings as a captain’s knock but it was the magic of captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza to guide Rangpur Riders to a wonderful victory against Sylhet Sixers in the 31st match of BPL 2017.

The Riders rode on top of the Sylhet Sixers’ batsmen riding on the batting of Mashrafe Bin Mortaza once they lost 6 wickets at 145 runs chasing a big total of 173 runs threw by Sylhet Sixers after batting first.

Also Read - After Kusal-Thisara's departure, Malinga set to fly back home

Striking two of the most entertaining sixes, Mortaza was unbeaten at 17 in 10 balls with fine accompaniment of Nahidul Islam being not out scoring 14 runs.

After few matches of failure, Kiwi hard hitter Brendon McCullum fired in the all-important clash of positions in the point table. McCullum was the highest run getter in the match. His 43 came off 38 deliveries with 4 shots of four and 2 sixes.

Rangpur Riders another big name Chris Gayle could turn the tide in this match also but other opener Ziaur Rahman made the second highest 36 runs off just 18 balls. He hit 5 fours and 2 sixes.

The steady Bopara has continued the success run, became the highest scorer in this year’s BPL. He added 33 runs in his tally today.

In the beginning of the day, Rangpur Riders sent Sylhet Sixers to bat first after winning the toss and despite Nazmul Hossain Apu’s destructive bowling, the Sixers reached a comfortable target of 173 runs in their innings for the loss of 5 wickets.

The score might have been bigger had Nazmul Islam could not trapped Babar Azam short of the crease opting for a run through a direct throw.

Azam made 54 off 37 balls. Hard hitter Sabbir Rahman entitled 44 in the closing phase of the innings before being bowled by Riders’ skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Watch Rangpur Riders vs Sylhet Sixers Highlights here-

The other significant scorer of Sylhet Sixers’ innings is Andre Fletcher. Fletcher scored 26 off 17 with 2 fours and a six.

Brief Score:

Sylhet Sixers 173/5 (20 overs)

Babar Azam 54, Sabbir Rahman 44, Andre Fletcher 26

Nazmul Hossain 3/18, Mashrafe 1/39

Rangpur Riders 177/6 (19.4 overs)

Brendon McCullum 43, Ziaur Rahman 36, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 17*

Abul Hasan 1/25, Nabil Samad 1/31, Tim Bresnan 1/40

Result: Rangpur Riders won by 4 wickets.

Toss: Rangpur Riders. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018