Rajshahi Kings attache first win of the season

Rajshahi Kings attache first win of the season Playing their third match, Rajshahi Kings has just registered the first victory of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The Kings have chased down the target of 134 runs in 16.4 overs losing 2 wickets.

The Kings were on the verge of a ten wicket victory when Thisara Perera threw directly to clutch Lendl Simmons out of the batting crease. He scored 53 runs off 50 balls with 4 fours and a six.

On the other end, opener Mominul Haque carried the bat through the innings; became unbeaten scoring 63 off 44 deliveries. 3 sparkling shots of sixes and 4 fours he thrashed in his innings.

Also Read - Photo Album: Sylhet Sixers vs Khulna Titans, Match-8

Rony Talukdar ended the innings adding 10 runs as Thisara Perera also grabbed the wicket of one down batsman Malcolm Waller.

The first match in the Dhaka stage of BPL-5 did not start well for Rangpur Riders. Decided to bat first after winning the toss has not come out successfully for one of the strong title contenders this season.

None but Ravi Bopara could take advantage of the wicket and condition at the Sher – e – Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Bopara’s unbeaten 51 ball 54 runs is the highest in the Riders’ innings.

He edged for 3 fours and 2 sixes. Rajshahi Kings’ bowlers, though, was not able to capture many wickets, restricted Rangpur Riders’ batsmen from scoring.

Losing the first wicket in the third delivery of the first over at the score of 3, Riders batsmen failed to reconstruct the innings at any point of the innings.

The second highest 23 runs from the bat of Shahriar Nafees, he played 31 deliveries to do that.

Farhad Reza continued his good form with the ball in this season, claimed 2 wickets for Rajshahi Kings in this match also.

Brief Score:
Rangpur Riders 134/5 (20 overs)
Ravi Bopara 54, Shahriar Nafees 23, Mohammad Mithun 18
Farhad Reza 2/28, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 1/19, James Franklin ¼

Rajshahi Kings 138/2 (16.4 overs)
Lendl Simmons 53, Mominul Haque 63*, Rony Talukdar 10*
Thisara Perera 1/12

Result: Rajshahi Kings won by 8 wickets
Toss: Rangpur Riders. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018