Thisara leads through suspense, win big match for Riders

Thisara leads through suspense, win big match for RidersThrough the last ball suspense, Thisara Perera has won the big occasion for Rangpur Riders, restricted defending champion Dhaka Dynamites 3 runs short of the target.

The Dynamites were bundled out scoring 139 runs as Thisara uprooted the stumps of Abu Hider Rony in the last ball of the innings where they needed to score 4 runs to win the match.

In front of a full house crowd at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, the Riders have exhibited the ultimate resilience to throttle the strong batting line up of Dhaka Dynamites and defended a low total.

Also Read - Live: Dhaka opt to bowl against Rangpur

The skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s game changing strategies ultimately ushered the desired results for the Riders who himself brought the first wicket for the team slinging away opener Sunil Narine at the score of 2.

As Dhaka Dynamites had to chase quite a low total, they progressed well in the course of the game. In form Evin Lewis thrashed hard with 3 sixes in his 28 runs innings before Gazi hold him back to make the turnaround for the Riders.

Wicket keeper Jahurul Islam also batted well, he was the highest scorer in the Dynamites’ innings, and when Shahid Afridi fired in the crease, the win seemed to be a matter of time for the defending champions at one stage.

Lasith Malinga put a lee way to the opposition, giving away six wide deliveries as a result of making effort of yorking the batsman.

But the veteran campaigner showed his experience when he put end of Nadif Chowhdury in the last ball of his last over, bringing Rangpur Riders back into the game once again.

Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza put trust upon Thisara Perera in the deciding final over of the match. Dynamites had Kieron Pollard in crease – the West Indian hard hitter hammered a thunderous six silencing the Riders’ crowd.

All Dhaka Dynamites needed was 4 runs in last three balls; Pollard denied the single but lost his wicket in the next ball. In the end there was no clue left for Abu Hider Rony when Thisara Perera dislodged his stumps and leap into the air in celebration.

The post Dynamites’ session was dominated by Chris Gayle and Shakib Al Hasan, the Caribbean dynamo powered Rangpur Riders’ innings for the second consecutive match hitting fours and sixes all around the ground entertaining a full house Dhaka crowd at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

On the other hand, Shakib Al Hasan ended with his third fifer in T20 cricket.

Shahid Afridi shattered the stumps of Kiwi big hitter Brendon McCullum in the first over he bowled. McCullum did find no chance to open up today scored 6 with a four.

Mohammad Mithun partnered with Chris Gayle in the second wicket partnership, built a solid stand, took Rangpur Riders to 71 in the eighth over when a bowling change by Dhaka Dynamites’ captain Shakib Al Hasan brought him the vital breakthrough.

Mosaddek did the damage in what was seen a rather clean hitting by Gayle, Abu Hider grabbed the catch in near of the boundary line.

Gayle’s innings ended at 51 in just 28 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes.

In the point of fact, the rest of the Rangpur Riders’ batsmen failed to capitalize the good start made by Chris Gayle losing wickets cheaply.

The second highest 22 was scored by Mohammad Mithun. Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza stepped into the field earlier than his usual position. Mashrafe’s confrontation was restricted by Narine and Afridi.

The Riders captain hit one four and one six in his 15 runs, became the third victim of Shahid Afridi in the match.

In the closing over of Rangpur Riders innings, Dynamites’ icon Shakib Al Hasan delivered devastating bowling skills. He picked wickets one after another restricting Rangpur Riders to extend the score further in the crucial moment.

Watch the winning moments here-

Dhaka Dynamites’ icon Shakib Al Hasan made a five wicket haul bowling 3.5 overs; he conceded 16 runs.

Brief Score:
Rangpur Riders 142 all out (19.5 overs)
Chris Gayle 51, Mohammad Mithun 22, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 15
Shakib Al Hasan 5/16, Mohammad Amir 1/34, Shahid Afridi 2/39

Dhaka Dynamites 139 all out (20 overs)

Jahurul Islam 29, Evin Lewis 28, Shahid Afridi 21
Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 2/30, Sohag Gazi 2/18, Thisara Perera 2/37

Result: Rangpur Riders won by 3 runs.
Toss: Dhaka Dynamites. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018