Titans ride top of the table thrashing Kings

Titans ride top of the table thrashing KingsDepleting Rajshahi Kings by 68 runs, Khulna Titans, once again has made position in the top of the point table. At the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Khulna Titans finished defending the giant score of 213 runs posted in the board after batting first.

Khulna Titans victory were precisely constructed by their batsmen. Two of the Titans’ batsmen in the line up, Afif Hossain and Nicholas Pooran went through half centuries in the innings accompanied with fine knocks from opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Carlos Brathwaite.

Afif showed no mercy to Rajshahi Kings’ bowlers towards his unbeaten half century. All he hit were sixes on the way to 54 runs in 38 deliveries counted 5 extravagant shots overlapping boundary line.

Also Read - Little chances that slipped away cost us: Root

Nicholas Pooran were more destructive; his 57 came off 26 balls smashing 6 fours and 3 sixes.

Khulna Titans nearly touched the all time highest score of BPL, fall short for 4 runs. Dhaka Dynamites scored 2017 runs losing 4 wickets back in 2013.

Rajshahi Kings’ bowlers’ misery was not stopped there which was initially launched by opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto who missed the fifty for a single run.

Khulna Titans’ innings was taken to the height by Carlos Brathwaite; the magnificent hitter continued marveling spectators with exquisite hitting all around the ground. With equal number of fours (4×3) and sixes (6×3), the Caribbean star scored 14 ball 34.

The target was big and Rajshahi Kings were not in line of competing under some fiery bowling by Shafiul Islam and Abu Jayed.

Shafiul claimed his maiden fifer in T20 cricket conceding just a handful of 26 runs.

Shafiul and Abu Jayed picked up wickets alternatively from the beginning of the Rajshahi Kings’ innings enjoined by Jofra Chioki Archer, Mahmudullah Riyad and Afif Hossain.

Brief Score:

Khulna Titans 213/5 (20 overs)

Nicholas Pooran 57, Afif Hossain 54, Nazmul Hossain Shanto 49

James Franklin 3/50, Mohammad Sami 1/22

Rajshahi Kings 145 all out (19 overs)

Rony Talukdar 36, Mehedi Hasan 29, Zakir Hasan 19

Shafiul Islam 5/26, Abu Jayed 2/48, Afif Hossain 1/7

Result: Khulna Titans won by 68 runs.

Toss: Rajshahi Kings. 1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018