Titans won the hard battle against Riders

Titans won the hard battle against RidersThe 104 run partnership between Ravi Bopara and Nahidul Islam went in vain; the two settled batsmen failed to gather 9 more runs to guide Rangpur Riders into the victory target against Khulna Titans at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium in Chittagong.

Having won the cliffhanger, Khulna Titans have escalated right into the top spot of BPL 2017 point table.

Both Bopara and Nahidul reached into their half centuries, lost wickets in the crucial moments of the game at the ending phase of the innings. Some disciplined bowling by Khulna Titans helped them to win the important encounter despite not being able to take not more than 6 wickets of Rangpur Riders.

Also Read - Live: Riders to field first

Khulna Titans’ Pakistani recruit Junaid Khan led the team towards the vital win both with his bowling and fielding. Nahidul Islam fell short of the crease in the second ball of the last delivery against a direct throw by Junaid Khan.

In the ultimate delivery of the innings, Junaid picked the wicket of Bopara, caught by Afif Hossain.

Englishman Ravi Bopara scored 59 off 44 deliveries; the cool headed middle order batsman hit just 4 fours and a six in his innings.

Meanwhile Nahidul Islam delivered 58 runs 43 balls with 7 shots to the boundary.

Rangpur Riders fall back in the second over when Brendon McCullum departed early adding 2 runs on the board. Chris Gayle commenced well with 2 exquisite boundaries and a 106 meter six but was caught by Pooran in the deep off the delivery of Abu Jayed after scoring 16 (9 balls).

In the upper part of the game, skipper Mahmudullah Riyad hold back and guided the innings of Khulna Titans to throw a competitive target in front of Rangpur Riders after they were sent into bat first.

Titans lost several quick wickets in the beginning but Mahmudullah Riyad, came into bat at number four, stayed up to the seventeenth over and scored 59 runs off 36 deliveries. His innings was ornamented by 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Brief Score:

Khulna Titans 158/8 (20 overs)

Mahmudullah Riyad 59, Nazmul Hossain Shanto 20, Ariful Haque 16

Rubel Hossain 3/35, Lasith Malinga 2/27, Sohag Gazi 1/30

Rangpur Riders 149/6 (20 overs)

Ravi Bopara 59, Nahidul Islam 58, Chris Gayle 16

Afif Hossain 2/4, Junaid Khan 1/20, Abu Jayed 1/48

Result: Khulna Titans won by 9 runs.

Toss: Rangpur Riders.  1 of 1

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018